Society for Contemporary Craft 2011 LEAP Award Winner Announced

The Society for Contemporary Craft (SCC) is pleased to announce the winner of the 2011 Lydon Emerging Artist Program (LEAP). Established in honor of SCC’s Director of Exhibitions, Kate Lydon, for her 20 years of service, the biennial LEAP Award was launched in the fall of 2007 and provides early career artists who show exceptional promise with the opportunity to showcase a body of their work to a regional, national, and international audience in the Store.


The 2011 Winner of the LEAP Award at the Society for Contemporary Craft is ceramic artist Mel Griffin of Minneapolis, Minnesota. Griffin was chosen from a pool of 22 finalists in 6 craft disciplines, and she will receive a $1,000 cash prize as well as a feature in the Store at SCC for one year. Griffin creates functional earthenware pottery decorated with animal imagery using delicate line drawings.  Owls, crocodiles, and mule deer are surrounded by foliage, blue birds, and impressions of fingerprints in her platters, pitchers and plates. Griffin is currently an MFA candidate at the University of Minnesota.


The juror for the 2011 LEAP Award is Sharon Massey, an internationally recognized metalsmith, and the manager of the Store at SCC.  She commented, “I was really excited by the work that was submitted for this year’s Award.  Every media was strongly represented, and most of the artists are truly emerging, including current students and very recent graduates. Each finalist has a cohesive body of work and a unique, fresh voice in the field. Within each category, including jewelry, metals, clay, glass, wood, and fibers, there is a range of work, from functional to sculptural. I found Griffin’s work to be especially compelling; her animals are charismatic, drawn with a lyrical line quality on earthy surfaces with rich color. I believe her work is a significant addition to the tradition of animal imagery in ceramics.”


Works by all 21 finalists will be featured for one month in the Store, beginning in April 2011. The finalists in each category are—Jewelry: Lauren Abrams, Richmond, VA; Alicia Jane Boswell, Boise, ID; Heejin Hwang, Madison, WI; Jillian Moore, Iowa City, IA; Caitie Sellers, Asheville, NC; Clay: Jenni Brant, Lincoln, NE; Daniel Kuhn, Brackenridge, PA; Joanna Powell, Boulder, CO; Alyssa Wood, Davidson, NC; Glass: Clarke DeCapite, Coral Gables, FL; Jessi Moore, Carbondale, Il; Elizabeth Perkins, Seattle, WA; Nadine Saylor, Bowling Green, OH; Josefina Muñoz Torres, Santiago, Chile; Metals: Warren Holzman, Philadelphia, PA; Stacey Lee Webber, Philadelphia, PA; Wood: Tom Sheilds, Asheville, NC; Mike Stofiel, Wilmington, DE; Kimberly Winkle, Smithville, TN; Fibers: Amanda Gross, Pittsburgh, PA; Erin M. Riley, Philadelphia, PA.

Views: 198


You need to be a member of crafthaus to add comments!

Join crafthaus

Comment by alice simpson on March 8, 2011 at 7:02pm
Congratulations to all the winners and finalists!
Comment by Sharon Massey on March 4, 2011 at 12:17pm

See more info about Mel Griffin and the other finalists here:

Latest Activity

Galerie Noel Guyomarc'h posted photos
8 hours ago
Liz Steiner added a discussion to the group SNAG

SNAG Connects: Meet Your Region Leader- Canada

The purpose of SNAG Connects is to bring together members and potential members within their own geographical region. Each region has a volunteer leader in charge of forging these relationships.…See More
Aric Verrastro posted photos
Amanda Scheutzow posted photos
Rebecca Skeels commented on Rebecca Skeels's group The Association for Contemporary Jewellery
"Deadline 20 April! : Open Call for presentation proposals at Snag's 2019 Conference, The Loop: Coming Full Circle.22May2018 - 15May2018The Palmer House Hilton DEADLINE: 20/04/2018 Snag is seeking speakers for the 48th conference to be held in…"
Rebecca Skeels commented on Rebecca Skeels's group The Association for Contemporary Jewellery
"don't forget: SIERAAD 2018 Call for Applications25Jan2018 - 10Apr2018Gasholder WesterGasfabriekAmsterdam, NETHERLANDS DEADLINE: 10/04/2018 It's time to meet your buyers in Amsterdam at SIERAAD. No more than 100 stands for participants who…"
Rebecca Skeels commented on Rebecca Skeels's group The Association for Contemporary Jewellery
"Meet Arline Fisch, Hanne Behrens and Rachelle Thiewes24Mar2018Mobilia GalleryCambridge, UNITED STATESMeeting the artists, visiting the exhibition and knowing the insights of their work on 24th of…"
Rebecca Skeels commented on Rebecca Skeels's group The Association for Contemporary Jewellery
"Point of no return, a Masterclass by Christoph Zellweger Workshop  /  Making   Conceptual  /  14 Aug 2018  -  18 Aug 2018"


  • Add Videos
  • View All

© 2018   Created by Brigitte Martin.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service